Municipal Boundaries Print
By Jim Lacy   

In Wisconsin, the Legislative Technology Services Bureau (LTSB) GIS Team works closely with local governments to maintain a statewide layer of municipal boundaries (cities, villages, and towns), commonly referred to as "minor civil divisions."  At the present time, counties voluntarily submit data to LTSB. 

In addition, the U.S. Census Bureau collects governmental unit boundaries from all governments in the nation through its voluntary Boundary and Annexation Survey.  Numerous Wisconsin counties respond to the survey for governments in their county through a County Consolidated Boundary and Annexation Survey (C-BAS).

Last Updated on June 30, 2015