Wisconsin Geospatial News

2005 Board Members and Award Winners Announced at WLIA Conference

At the February 24 WLIA business meeting and awards luncheon, results of the recent Board election were announced. Members of the 2005 WLIA Board of Directors are:

Continuing Members:
Ken Pabich (President) – Calumet County
Alissa Bails (Past President) – R.A. Smith & Associates
Fred Halfen (President-Elect) – Ayres Associates
Bret Davies – Juneau County
Jodi Helgeson – Adams County
Cristina Pearson – Iowa County
Jay Shambeau – Clark County
Chris Vanderheyden – Continental Mapping

Newly Elected Members:
Jeff DuMez – Brown County
AJ Wortley – SCO
Kristen Anderson – Columbia County
David Hart – UW-Madison
Marge Geissler – Chippewa County
Jerry Sullivan – WI DOA
Brian McGee – American Transmission Co
Scott Galetka (1 year term) – Lincoln County

2005 WLIA Award Winners
Each spring nominations are sought from WLIA members for a series of awards handed out at the annual conference. These awards acknowledge individuals, organizations, local governments and coalitions that have made significant contributions to the modernization of land records in Wisconsin.

Outstanding Contribution Award is given to an individual or an organization that is a WLIA member and has made a substantial contribution to WLIA activities or the Wisconsin Land Information Program (WLIP).

•   Dan Seidensticker – Madison Area Metropolitan Planning Organization

•   Alissa Bails – R.A. Smith & Associates, Inc.

Local Government Achievement Awards is given to a local, municipal, town, county, tribal government or consortium that has used WLIP funding to further land records modernization in such a way as to exemplify the goals for the WLIP in one or all of the following areas:
– Innovative and efficient use of resources (best bang for the buck)
– Local data with statewide accessibility
– Cooperative / creative agreements

•   Northeastern Wisconsin Regional Mapping Initiative

•   Washington County

•   Oconto County

Allen H. Miller Sustained Service Award is given to an individual or organization that demonstrates sustained service to WLIA and the WLIP, through continued exemplary contributions. The Allen H. Miller Sustained Service Award is named after our first President and continuing friend and supporter.

•   Ken Pabich – Calumet County

Presidential Honor Award is given by the outgoing President as a special "thank you" to an individual who has been especially supportive and helpful during their term:

•   Jon Schwichtenberg – SEH, Inc.

Distinguished Service Awards are traditionally given to outgoing WLIA Board members and Presidents in appreciation for their service to the WLIA.

    Brian Braithwaite
    Brett Budrow
    Jeffery DuMez
    Joyce Fiacco
    Scott Galetka
    Al Lulloff
    Jon Schwichtenberg
    Jeff Bluske (Past President)
    Alissa Bails (President)

Map Gallery Competition

Another tradition at the WLIA annual conference is the map gallery competition. Once again we owe Jerry Sullivan from the Department of Administration our thanks for running the show. There were a whopping 66 entries spread across seven categories. In addition, there were six contenders for the best interactive website award. And the winners are…

Base Map: a standard product for over-the-counter users, complete, documented, not flashy.

Title Author(s) Organization
Washington Co. Base Map – President’s Choice

Eric Damkot

Wash. Co. Plng. & Parks

Castle Rock & Petenwell – First Place

Matt Guptail


Dodge Co. Street Index – Second Place

Jesse O’Neill

Dodge Co. LIO

Small Format Map: any size B or smaller (17” x 11”); any theme; any scale or extent.

Title Author(s) Organization

MobilMAP: Burnett Co.’s Portable Road Aide – First Place

Tracy Horel

Burnett Co. LIO

Town of Rolling, Langlade Co., WI, LUP maps – Second Place

Andy Faust, Parry Landau


Thematic Map: great cartography – design, layout, labeling, annotation, color and appeal.

Title Author(s) Organization

Planned Future Growth Area – First Place

Dan Seidensticker

Dane Co. MPO

Nux Ma Ruha Ni Xele Soil Series – Second Place

Craig Surman


Map Poster: informative, eye-catching, colorful, interesting (not just a map; tells a story)

Title Author(s) Organization

Creating Contiguous Developable Parcels – Best Student Poster

Ahmed Abubaker, Sutapa Chatterjee, Marc Gelenian, Diana Hu

UWM, Dept. Urban Plng.

Using GIS for Electric Transmission Line Routing & Siting – First Place

Andrea Beck

Amer. Trans. Co.

Blastomicosis – Second Place

Scott Galetka

Lincoln Co. GIS Dept.

Orthophoto-based Map: now that we’ve got them, let’s use them; show an innovative use.

Title Author(s) Organization

Green Bay Vicinity 1960 Historical Orthophotography – First Place

Jason Krueger

Continental Mapping Cons.

Oshkosh Area, Winnebago Co. 1941-2003- Second Place

Trish Nau


Black and White Map: any format and theme, but no hue… a special problem in design.

Title Author(s) Organization

Transport 2020 – First Place

Dan Seidensticker

Madison Area MPO

Wisconsin ZCBJ/WFLA Lodges – Second Place

JoAnn Parks

Applied Data Consultants

Brochure: any format and theme, used for public information or marketing purposes.

Title Author(s) Organization

City of Muskego Chamber of Commerce Street Map – First Place

Emily Champagne

City of Muskego

Ahnapee State Trail – Second Place

Tom Haight

Door Co. LIO

Interactive Web-Based Mapping Site:

Title Author(s) Organization

Door Co. Web Map – First Place


Tom Haight

Door Co. LIO

Air Disasters – Second Place


David Bratz, Zach Nienow, Aaron Stephenson



We are happy to publish information on new jobs, promotions, retirements, and awards! Please send your announcements to Jim Lacy.